A transaction is either marked as cleared or uncleared. Mark transactions as uncleared, if you have to review them at a later date.
For example it may happen that you’ve entered a transaction in the app, but the transaction was not processed by your bank yet. In this case you should mark the transaction as uncleared. The number of all uncleared transactions is shown above the app icon on the Home screen (iOS) or Dock (macOS).